junk in my trunk (images)

I have junk in my trunk.

I have junk in my living room, in storage, in boxes, in my closet, in other people’s homes, …(I’ll stop here as this list could take me a while to write).

A lot of the “junk” are neatly packed inside boxes as a result of having to move out of my apartment unexpectedly and without a plan.  I never wanted to go through the ordeal of packing and moving out/moving in ever again after that experience. And, for almost a year, I left a lot of my belongings packed away inside neatly-labled boxes stacked  on one another like a Tetris game.

This past weekend, my new roommate and I curiously unpacked one of the boxes labeled “decor”.  Since I hadn’t seen the items inside the box in a while, I decided they’re obviously of no significance. Afterall, I’ve been living my life without needing to access these “insignificant” things immediately.

We opened the box…

vintage clock

I’ve been living a “gypsy lifestyle” since I moved out of my Hancock Park apartment last Fall.

This means, I tow around most items I need or think I need at all times in a shopping cart (just kidding).  I have my library and closet and vanity in tow scattered about in the backseat of my car, in my monogramed Longchamp bag, in vintage LV bags, in Paper Source shopping bags, in beautifully-printed Stephanie Johnson toiletry bags, and other seemingly useful containers that are no match for the gypsy lifesyle.

Kate Spade pouches and The Container Store can only do so much!

That said, I naturally feel stressed out when I think about all the other “stuff” I possess that I don’t keep with me on a daily basis.  The experience of packing and unpacking then packing and unpacking then repeating those steps every couple of years stresses me out.  Thinking about sitting in the hot sun trying to convince pedestrians to buy my brand new Frye boots for ten dollars ($10!) at a yard sale (then, failing and sending them to Goodwill instead) stresses me out.
There was a point where I would’ve paid others to haul my things away.  Nevermind, the experiences associated with each special flea-market find, or the huge discount I got from the Barney’s Sale at the Santa Monica Hangar ten years ago, or the flattering dress with all the sentimental value associated with it.
I wanted everything gone.


So, seeing a huge white box marked “decor” with a thick Sharpie marker just seemed like a huge ordeal I could do without.  “Extraneous”, I decided.  And, I’m so over being over-the-top.

My next thought: sell these flea-market antiques on etsy (etsy.com/shop/pinkponiesshop).

glazed green vase



“I’m gonna live a simple and Spartan life!  
I’m gonna be organized and efficient!  
I’m gonna do without the unnecessary!”
…screamed my brain-washed conscience.




1 of 2 glazed turquoise bud vases

But, as I sat there with my big ambition carefully unpacking each delicate item after delicate item, I started to remember why I kept these items instead of my Frye boots and all the other expensive things I threw away when I moved out…

…I fell in love with each piece and each piece made it a pleasure to come home…




…each piece made my home more…


…poetic.


minature antique bicycle, lacquered stationery box, little clock.

These items aren’t “extraneous” at all.  They’re special and that’s exactly why I’ve kept them instead of the five purses I sold for $5 bucks a piece.  There’s something fantastic about being in your own space surrounded by a collection of items that make you smile.


Somehow, these small reminders of who you are – outside of your crafted self-image and social “armor” or facade – helps the loooooong day melt away.  Sure, I could get a massage or do yoga, but having a room’s ambience to one’s exact specifications can do wonders for the soul.

It reminds you of who you are when no one’s there to judge you.
I filled each of these vases with flowers I grew on my balcony garden/personal yoga studio…
antique container, 2 blue bud vases, ceramic postage stamp box.

Each item was hand-picked and carefully considered.  Sometimes visiting the store more than twice before making the purchase.  These weren’t impulse buys…

I remember scheduling the Mortise & Tenon sale and looking forward to the great treasures I knew I ‘d find.  (Read:  I purposely and thoughtfully made time to look for these items). 
red container with feet + gold gingo leaf letter-opener

Actually, finding each piece at different times, then putting them together in the same space one by one, and somehow making them all connect and contribute to creating just the right “mood”, was an adventure in itself.  

Ever walk into a room or space and surprisingly find your mood elevated?  It was literally that feeling every single time I entered my bedroom or sat to read a book in our living room.
But, alas, our lives evolve and nothing stays the same.  So, now that my current state doesn’t allow much space for “frivolous” items of emotional luxury, should I get rid of these things???

Talk to us...