it starts in my toes…

“… makes me crinkle my nose…” (this is how I describe feeling amazing)
I feel absolutely amazing.  Why?  I’ve accomplished the objectives I set for myself for the week (and scheduled smaller tasks throughout the next few days), I had a delicious and healthy meal, read a couple chapters of a good book, reconnected with supportive and genuine friends, submitted my resume, attended to other responsibilities while getting an opportunity to “flex” some valuable attributes in myself that I haven’t been able to in some time…
Days that make me “crinkle my nose” are top priority, and I make sure to schedule them strategically following tough weeks.  
Seriously. 
I reserved a portion of today for less demanding chores like drycleaning, laundry, household chores, returning calls to friends, etc…  I do have stressful obligations on my plate, however, for the next three hours, I choose to “responsibly ignore” them as a proactive and conscious form of self-preservation.  The objective is to shut down stress by being around inspiring people..or intellectually stimulating ideas…or existing in an environment filled with “things I love” (i.e. the outdoors, the stationery store, indoors watching movies with gorgeous imagery, museums, gardens, etc…) to bring me back to center.  When time’s up, I’m back to focused work, appointments, stress, bills, etc…
Do you set aside time to do the things you enjoy and be around friends (not associated with your job and/or goal to “network”) who are supportive and trustworthy?  
Existing in a “non-threatening” space where you can have your guard down and be as carefree as a child (read:  without being judged) is healthy and promotes “good” behavior in adults.  A recent research by Sreedhari Desai and Francesca Gino published by the Harvard Business Review found that an environment reminiscent of childhood encouraged adults to behave more ethically (link to article:  Adults Behave Better When Teddy Bears are in the Room). 

Have a lovely week.

3P


related articles:
“Scheduling Distraction-Free time” by Connectedlife.com
10 ways to make more time for yourself” by chronicbabe.com
“Nice girl = Bad Networker” (Thanks to Connected Life)

Talk to us...

